Surface Transducer – Beginner Electronic Project

This is a project I did last year for my physics teacher, when I first realized that I should probably start experiencing what I plan on doing with my life in the future, and I sure did enjoy it! This project involved using a surface transducer, which works much in the same way that a speaker driver does, but without the cone. Essentially, it can almost any object or material into a speaker! This project was still when I was very new to soldering, so my soldering is very bad, but it is a great way to get a beginner like me some experience with electronics and circuits.

Adafruit Medium Surface Transducer

Surface Transducer

MAX98306 3.7 W Amp, which drives enough power to make the transducer produce enough sound

Amp

And this 3.5 mm breadboard jack to plug in an auxiliary audio cable.

3.5mm jack

I also used an assortment of jumper cables, battery holders, a breadboard, and plexiglass for the case

It was pretty easy to assemble this, just solder the amplifier together according to the circuit diagram on the adafruit website, and then solder your power source and transducer to the amplifier.

The objects that work best with the transducer are large, solid objects. Glass works very well, in fact, the best out of all the surfaces. Wood is still able to drive an accurate sound, however it sounds muffled and a lot more quiet than glass. Metal surfaces display the full sound,but the sound is very distorted and echoey.

So if you want to find out how to do this, just follow this adafruit instruction video, with not exactly the same components, but should work perfectly with any of the transducers on the adafruit website.

DSC_0165

Leave a comment